Shakespeare it’s quotable

OK – So a few weeks ago at school we were talking about something and my teacher said –

if you cut, me I bleed, if you tickle me I laugh – whatever, everyone is the same

I said – OK Shylock

He asked me what I was talking about.

Here’s my problem…if you are gonna misquote Shakesphere, know you are misquoting it.  You might not know the play (Merchant of Venice) or the character (Shylock) or the exact quote

Hath not a Jew eyes? Hath not a Jew hands, organs, dimensions, senses, affections, passions; fed with the same food, hurt with the same weapons, subject to the same diseases, heal’d by the same means, warm’d and cool’d by the same winter and summer as a Christian is? If you prick us, do we not bleed? If you tickle us, do we not laugh? If you poison us, do we not die? And if you wrong us, shall we not revenge? If we are like you in the rest, we will resemble you in that. If a Jew wrong a Christian, what is his humility? Revenge. If a Christian wrong a Jew, what should his sufferance be by Christian example? Why, revenge. The villainy you teach me, I will execute, and it shall go hard but I will better the instruction.

Act III, scene I
But know that you are getting the idea from Shakespeare.
He then made a comment that he graduated high school to long ago to remember that stuff.  I was like dude you graduated in 1987….I graduated in 1988 and I remember the lines.
Ok – Merchant of Venice-   Fine you don’t realize where the quote came from
Do you know
Romeo Romeo wherefore art thou Romeo
or
To be or not to be
He didn’t.    I was sad.
But it got us talking at work (ok I was telling two of my friends about the sadness) and we decided to watch Kenneth Branagh’s version of Hamlet
It is AMAZING  It has fantastic cameo’s    Jack Lemmon, not even attempting to pretend to be English.   Billy Crystal as the gravedigger,   spot on.
Kate Winslet as Ophelia was fantastic
But  PUT ASIDE HOURS TO WATCH THIS  really -it’s unedited so it’s every word in the play and it’s very long.
But the body count is the highest in all the plays and it’s really really amazing
I watched the Ethan Hawke version today also.   My favorite version.
4 thoughts on “Shakespeare it’s quotable

  1. That is far too much for me to ever remember as a quote. I go for the more simple things like, “I ain’t got time to bleed.” (Jesse “The Body” Ventura, in Predator)

  2. oh come on. like you had something else to do. whats a few hours amongst friends. and i cant believe your still upset about the dumb teacher. boys are dumb we have to move on.

  3. I’m with Finn.
    I particularly like Brannagh’s “Love’s Labours Lost” I watch it EVERY TIME IT’S ON. (Which has been recently on cable)
    I can’t imagine a TEACHER that doesn’t get the Shakespeare reference!

Comments are closed.