9/11/2001

I was at work. I was sitting at my desk and someone said one of the towers had been hit by a plane. Just like that. No need to say twin towers or World Trade Center. We were NY’s it was one of the towers was hit by a plane.

Our first thought….what kind of a moron didn’t see the big building. We just thought that it was some guy in a single engine plane who was stupid.

I don’t remember how we find out it was much much worse. I think I may have called my mom and asked her to see what happened….did it make the news yet.

It had. We all ran downstairs to watch the news and just sit in silence and shock. Then the second plane hit. It seems like it was hours later but it wasn’t. Then the building fell.

Again, we all stood around the tv, in silence and fear and shock. What do we do? Can we call our family members and make sure they are ok.

We were in Long Island. Most of us had family or friends in the City. It’s only 45 minutes.

My friends wife was on school trip to the World Trade Center with her kindergaten class. They got stuck on the Brooklyn Bridge. They walked home I think.

He was a mess until he got in touch with her. Luckily, they lived in Brooklyn at the time so it wasn’t a bad walk (relatively speaking)

My uncle was on the Staten Island ferry. The stop for the ferry is under the Tower. The first plane hit, the ferry just turned around.

I found out a year later my brother had just gotten off the train to get on a ferry. He got out of the train and saw everyone running. He told me there was a woman just standing there. He grabbed her and booked. He got on the ferry and they saw the second plane hit. He got stuck in Staten Island that night at my aunt and uncles house.

My nephews daycare was full of firemen. I hoped they didn’t know what was going on. A few months later NE was playing at my parents house. He was using his checkers as people. He put a bunch aside. When I asked him why they were over on the side, he said they were the people that got hurt when the building fell down. I think he may have been 3 or 4 when he said that. I just lost it and had to leave the room.

I don’t like that my baby has a memory like that. He shouldn’t. No one should

I don’t like remembering it. I have no choice. I know to much now. I shouldn’t know how to pronounce Osama Bin Laden. Or any of those names. I refuse to say or write them. They don’t deserve to be remembered.

They tried to destroy us. They made us stronger. I wish the feeling of solidarity lasted longer then it did. The city was friendlier for a while. People let you in traffic, they walked prouder, they were nicer to each other. I wish the feeling laster longer and didn’t have to come at so high a price.

Remember the 2,996 people who died. They woke up and started the day like each and every one of you. Your’re here to make sure no one forgets them. Your’re here to make sure no one forgets what happened. In 20 years, it will be a part of your kids text books in History class. If you can, if they ask, tell them what happened. Tell them about the 2,996 people who died for no reason other then hate.

