More of my phobias.

You all know I am claustrophobic.   I discovered how claustrophobic recently and am a bit upset by it.  Whatever, planes don’t bother me and that’s what’s important (more on that later)

Some of you may know my other irrational fear (although is Claustrophobia irrational)   I am terrified of ladders and certain staircases.    I can’t climb more then 2 steps on a ladder without freezing.  When I moved into my house, they wanted me to check the attic, I got to the 2nd step and the guy with me had to lift me up to get me of the step.   I FROZE. It was bad.   I tried to climb to the top of a lighthouse.  3rd step,  had to be carried down crying, yet my boyfriend at the time, still went to the top with everyone and left me at the bottom by myself, crying.   Loser.

Anyway, this brings me to

     Chichen Itza

When my sister and I were younger we went to Cancun for vacation. Not spring break, just a regular vacation. It was ok. But the day trip to Chichen Itza was amazing. I knew I wanted to go. My sister was iffy, but she went with me because, well she had to.

Do any of you remember a commercial from Nike from the 80’s. It was a man and woman and they ran up the temple steps.

Well, it’s a hard run. It’s a hard walk There are like a bazallion steps (ok there aren’t that many but there are alot.)  This is when I knew my fear was real and not just climbing ladders stupid.  My sister and I took the bus trip,  long but beautiful sites so worth it.

This particular temple is El Castillo, the main one.    The steps are like 3 feet high.   I got to the third step and my sister had to basically sit with me as I heiny bumped back down, which took 20 minutes.

I did climb the smaller one,  It took a while but I did it.  I’m not afraid of heights, I can stand on cliffs and look down, just don’t make me take stairs to get to the top.   A hike, probably can do, but NO LADDERS OR STAIRS   It’s an irrational fear.   I know  shut up.

7 thoughts on “More of my phobias.

  1. When I get up high, I have this urge to step off into the air. It’s scary because I really want to do it.


    Me to, Finn is like that also. I think we all want to fly, or commint mass suicide, remind me never to go mountain climbing with you 🙂

  2. Phobias are so interesting. I don’t have any problem with stairs or ladders, and I don’t have a fear of heights, but I absolutely CAN NOT stand upright at the top of anything high without something stationary to touch with my hand, like a railing or a branch. It doesn’t have to be anything particularly sturdy, even, but without it I get an instant feeling of vertigo, and I just know I’m going to fall. I can sit down on the edge of a cliff, but stand there? Yikes.

    I can understand that. I like to have something to hold on to. Even a hand will do, but heights in general don’t bother me. very odd

  3. Hey, don’t apologize! That’s a legitimate phobia – lots of people are afraid of heights. I’ve also been to that temple. I didn’t climb it, though, because I had just torn the ACL in my knee the day before. So, I sat in the hot bus and watched everyone else go climb it. What a loser.

    But I’m not afraid of heights. I’m afraid of getting to the height, if stairs or ladders are involved.

  4. OK… shutting up…

    So… any particular reason for your stair/ladder anxiety? Did Fab have anything to do with it, because if he did, I’ll slap him for ya… Just saying…

  5. Interesting. What exactly are you afraid is going to happen?

    I don’t really have any phobias, but if I up really high and look down, I have to fight the urge to jump. I don’t know why. I don’t want to kill myself or anything.

    I don’t think anything is going to happen, I just can’t bring myself to climb ladders or certain types of staircases (ones with open steps are ok, sort of) circular staircases – nope not gonna happen.

    It’s an odd phobia but it’s mine and so there :)-

  6. Man. That is awful! I can’t imagine as I’m a cliff jumper LOL!

    What do you do if you need to get in your attic?

    I can jump off a cliff, I wouldn’t but I could. I just couldn’t climb a ladder or stairs to get to the top of the cliff.

    My sister or one of my friends goes in the attic for me. I can’t store stuff up there, so the only reason to go up is to change the filter for the a/c –

Comments are closed.