Robert Andrew Spencer

Robert Andrew Spencer
He was from Red Bank. He was 35. He biked, played Lacrosse, smoked cigars. He liked to be called Andy. But his true passion was his family.

“He wasn’t the type of person who didn’t have time,” said Christine Spencer. “I didn’t understand how other women could marry and not see their husbands. Sometimes, I wish it hadn’t been so perfect for me because it makes it much harder.”

He loved his family. He is one of 4 kids. He had 2 kids. He sent flowers to his wife because he wanted to, not because he had to.

He built fires on the first day of snow so his family could toast marshmallows

Addie has had a hard time grasping her father’s death, Christine Spencer said. And Katie doesn’t understand the finality of it. She still expects her father to come home.

And Robert Philip, born Aug. 16, probably won’t remember how his father doted on him in the first month of life. Baby Robert was christened at his father’s memorial service, a celebration of his father’s spirit, his passion for life.

“That day, he called and said, ‘I’m alive and I love you,'” his wife said of his Sept. 11 message. “I didn’t understand what ‘I’m alive’ meant. But later I thought, ‘At least we have baby Robert.'”

I didn’t know him. I didn’t know his family. I do know they miss him.
He died 5 years ago.

For other stories go to 2,996 Participants

More can be found on Robert Andrew Spencer here

13 thoughts on “Robert Andrew Spencer

  1. We couldn’t find you, must have been an old URL on the participant list. So I did a last minute tribute. Let DCRoe know of your URL change so he can change it on the main list.

    That’s why I did Robert too. The night before, after URL checks turned up so many blogs missing.

    Your tribute is lovely. You did an awesome job. It breaks my heart we lost so many wonderful people that day.

  2. Even though I wrote one of these myself, it’s difficult to read through all of these wonderful tributes and how so many good people lost their lives far too soon.

  3. Beautiful job. Thank you for helping us remember Robert Andrew Spencer.
    Reading all of the different tributes has been a fantastic experience. Everyone is showing so much compassion and care. My tribute is for Robert J. DeAngelis.

  4. Beautiful Tribute!

    It is amazing how much it changed me by participating. I am trying to read as many of them as I can. We certainly lost some beautiful souls that day.

    I invite you to read about Major Dwayne Williams who died at the Pentagon.

  5. You have done a wonderful job on the tribute.

    Let us not forget those who died and the families left to live life without them. We shall remember the day the world cried. We shall remember a day that the whole world mourned together. We shall remember September 11th as more than just a number thanks to the 9/11 tribute started by D.Challener Roe.

  6. Very well written. I would think it would be hard to write a tribute to someone you didn’t know personally, but you did a fantastic job.

Comments are closed.